Boeken/Cultuur

Ook benieuwd naar de biografie van Lena Dunham?

Nog zeven nachtjes slapen en Lena Dunhams biografie Not that kind of girl verschijnt in Nederland! Hoera!
Omdat ik zolang niet kan wachten, heb ik de recensie van de New York Times gelezen. Ook benieuwd naar haar boek en wat de serieuze pers ervan vindt? Lees dan mee.

Lena geeft ons advies op basis van fouten die ze zelf maakte in haar leven:

“If I could take what I’ve learned,” she writes in the introduction, “and make one menial job easier for you, or prevent you from having the kind of sex where you feel you must keep your sneakers on in case you want to run away during the act, then every misstep of mine was worthwhile.”

Lena’s roman lijkt qua stijl op haar beroemde serie Girls – iets wat ik alleen maar kan toejuichen! Lena is alleen niet exact hetzelfde als Hannah – iets wat de NYT-recensent alleen maar kan toejuichen:

In fact, the differences between Ms. Dunham and Hannah help fuel this book. A young woman in search of a comic road map to love and sex and work and “having it all” would hardly benefit from consulting the self-sabotaging Hannah (or, for that matter, Marnie, Jessa or Shoshanna) for advice. But the author of this memoir — that’s another matter. Ms. Dunham doesn’t presume to be “the voice of my generation” or even “a voice of a generation,” as Hannah does in the show. Instead, by simply telling her own story in all its specificity and sometimes embarrassing detail, she has written a book that’s as acute and heartfelt as it is funny.

Of dit boek zo leuk en leerzaam wordt als Miranda Harts Is it just me betwijfel ik. Desondanks lig ik nu al met mijn figuurlijke slaapzak in de figuurlijke wachtrij van bol.com om dit boek aan te schaffen.

Wordt vervolgd!

Geef een reactie

